Latest News

« back to 2013 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Publish date: May 21, 2013

Winter postgraduate scholarship winners announced

The NCAA’s 2013 winter sports postgraduate scholarship winners have been announced, with 29 male and 29 female winter sports student-athletes each receiving $7,500. Similar awards are given each season to fall and spring student-athletes, totaling 174 individual winners.

To qualify, student-athletes must excel academically and athletically, be in their final year of eligibility and plan to pursue graduate study. Student-athletes must also maintain at least a 3.2 grade-point average and be nominated by their institution’s faculty athletics representative.

Created in 1964, the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships promote and encourage education by rewarding the Association’s most accomplished student-athletes.

Sarah Beard, rifle, TCU
Anna Connolly, swimming, Kenyon
Noel Couch, gymnastics, Georgia
Kaitlyn Dellinger, basketball, Widener
Kelsey Floyd, swimming, Tennessee
Caitlin Forbes, skiing, Saint Anselm
Laura Gorinski, swimming, Navy
Teal Gove, ice hockey, Plattsburgh
Lauren Gustafson, swimming, Purdue
Kimberly Holden, swimming, Notre Dame
Abigail Johnston, diving, Duke
Jacqui Kalin, basketball, Northern Iowa
Marissa Kastanek, basketball, North Carolina State
Jocelyne Lamoureux, ice hockey, North Dakota
Stephanie McGregor, gymnastics, Oregon State
Mia Michalak, swimming, Emory
Sara Neil, swimming, Sewanee (University of the South)
Jenna Niedermayer, indoor track, Elizabethtown
Ashley Priess, gymnastics, Alabama
Sarah Scherer, rifle, TCU
Rebecca Shaak, swimming, Lake Forest
Kayleigh Shangel, swimming, The College of New Jersey
Kayla Shull, swimming, Clarion
Ashley Sledge, gymnastics, Alabama
Taylor Tacha, indoor track, Nebraska Wesleyan
Allyson Voss, indoor track, Gustavus Adolphus
Ann Wolber, swimming, Emory
Minami Yamamura, gymnastics, UC Davis
Katherine Zurales, gymnastics, Michigan
Gabriel Alvarado, gymnastics, Stanford
Dwight Baker, swimming, Drury
Kevin Bandy, swimming, Louisville
Justin Beegle, swimming, Emory
James Alexander Douglas, swimming, Emory
Stuart Ferguson, swimming, Auburn
Christopher Galvin, indoor track, Navy
Alexander Greven, basketball, Emory
Tyler Harp, swimming, Redlands  
Alfonso Hernandez, wrestling, Wyoming
Henri Janghanel, rifle, Kentucky
John Kuhlman, basketball, Davidson
James Lendrum, swimming, Southern California
Anthony Lin, fencing, Duke
Phillip Link, swimming, Sewanee (University of the South)
Cameron Martin, swimming, Florida
Nathan McCormick, wrestling, Missouri
Peter O’Brien, swimming, Emory
Kyle Owens, swimming, Auburn
James Pezzino, gymnastics, Springfield
Brian Pierre, indoor track, Boise State
Curtis Ramsey, swimming, Kenyon
Dominic Rieniets, swimming, Linfield
Scott Rosenthal, gymnastics, Penn State
John Rutford, indoor track, Nebraska Wesleyan
Maxwell Stearns, fencing, Ohio State
Ian Stewart-Bates, swimming, Kenyon
Christian Treat, swimming, Bucknell
Quentin Wright, wrestling, Penn State

Additional information

In addition to the Postgraduate Scholarships, the NCAA offers the Walter Byers Scholarship, a renewable $24,000 postgraduate scholarship, and the Jim McKay Scholarship, a $10,000 award given annually to one male and one female student-athlete.

The NCAA also funds 13 $6,000 scholarships for women and 13 $6,000 scholarships for ethnic minorities. The Ethnic Minority and Women’s Enhancement Scholarships  are given to those student-athletes who are enrolling in curriculum that will lead to a career in sports administration. Six of the scholarships are available to Division III students only.

More than 8 out of 10 NCAA student-athletes earn bachelor’s degrees and more than a quarter earn postgraduate degrees. Almost 10,000 former student-athletes have returned to school in the past eight years and earned undergraduate degrees after exhausting their intercollegiate athletics eligibility.


2012-13 fall sports postgraduate scholarship winners announced

© 2013 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy