Latest News

« back to 2013 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Publish date: Mar 11, 2013

CoSIDA names Krzyzewski 2013 Enberg recipient


The College Sports Information Directors of America selected Duke men’s basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski as the recipient of the 2013 Dick Enberg Award.

The Enberg Award, named after award-winning sports broadcaster Dick Enberg, is given annually to a person whose actions and commitment have furthered the meaning and reach of the Capital One Academic All-America Team Program and the student-athlete while promoting the values of education and academics.

Krzyzewski will receive the award as part of the fourth annual Capital One Academic All-America Hall of Fame Gala on Wednesday, June 12, at CoSIDA’s annual convention in Orlando, Fla., which for the first time will be part of the annual NACDA Convention.

Krzyzewski, the winningest coach in the history of NCAA Division I men’s basketball, has enjoyed success throughout his 38-year career as a head coach at Duke, the United States Military Academy and with USA Basketball. He became the winningest coach in Division I men’s basketball on Nov. 15, 2011, by surpassing his collegiate coach and mentor, Bob Knight, in the Blue Devils’ 74-69 triumph over Michigan State. His legacy of 952 career victories (879 at Duke) is enhanced by four national championship seasons in 1991, 1992, 2001 and 2010.

“We’ve always believed the proper academic experience is such a vital part of a young man’s growth process,” Krzyzewski said. “I’ve been blessed at both Army and Duke to have so many players live by that belief and perform so well in the classroom, as well as on the basketball court. This is really their award.”

In international competition, Krzyzewski has led the United States to back-to-back gold medals at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China, and again last summer in London. The five-time USA Basketball National Coach of the Year also guided Team USA to the 2010 FIBA World Championship in Istanbul, Turkey.

Of Krzyzewski as the 2013 Enberg winner, Enberg himself said, “The Enberg Award continues to be the highest honor I’ve ever received, and it grows in significance with the acceptance this year by Coach K. In over 50 years of broadcasting, I’ve been blessed to rub shoulders with coaching greatness, ranging from John Wooden to Al McGuire to Dean Smith and to Coach K.  Like the others, Mike epitomizes a professor’s active concern for academic success, a quality that has contributed to his being one of the greatest winners in all of sport.”

A three-year standout and team captain under Knight at Army, Krzyzewski graduated from West Point in 1969 and served as an officer for five years, attaining the rank of captain until his resignation from the service in 1974. He returned to his alma mater in 1975 and served as Army’s head coach for five seasons, amassing 73 victories and garnering a pair of Coach of the Year accolades before heading south to Durham in 1980.

Since the 1983-84 season, Coach K’s Blue Devils have averaged 28 wins per season, with 30 or more victories on 12 occasions.  He joins Wooden and Kentucky’s Adolph Rupp as the only three coaches in NCAA Division I history to capture four or more national championships, and along the way he has mentored seven National Players of the Year (nine honors), 25 All-Americans, eight ACC Players of the Year and 78 all-ACC selections. In addition, 45 Blue Devils have been selected in the NBA Draft, including a record-25 first round picks.

A 12-time selection as National Coach of the Year, Krzyzewski was presented for induction into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame by Knight in 2001. On Nov. 17, 2000, the floor at Duke’s Cameron Indoor Stadium was dedicated as “Coach K Court” in his honor.

Previous Dick Enberg Award winners


© 2013 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy