« back to 2013 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Publish date: Jun 5, 2013

NCAA honors academic excellence in Division I

More than 950 NCAA Division I sports teams were honored by the NCAA for earning Public Recognition Awards, based on their most recent multi-year Academic Progress Rate. These awards are given each year to teams with APRs in the top 10 percent plus ties in each sport.

Public Recognition Awards

The following 61 schools have one or more teams that have won eight awards in a row:

American University

Arizona State University

Belmont University

Boston College

Boston University

Bowling Green State University

Bradley University

Brown University

Bucknell University

Butler University

Cleveland State University

Colgate University

Columbia University-Barnard College

University of Connecticut

Cornell University

Dartmouth College

Davidson College

University of Dayton

DePaul University

University of Delaware

University of Detroit Mercy

Duke University

Eastern Washington University

Elon University

Fairfield University

Fordham University

Georgetown University

Georgia Institute of Technology

Gonzaga University

University of Hartford

Harvard University

College of the Holy Cross

University of Illinois, Champaign

University of Kansas

Kent State University

Lafayette College

Lehigh University

Loyola College (Maryland)

Loyola University (Illinois)

University of Maine, Orono

University of Michigan

Monmouth University

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

University of Northern Iowa

Northwestern University

University of Notre Dame

Pennsylvania State University

University of Pennsylvania

Princeton University

Purdue University

Rice University

University of Richmond

Sacred Heart University

Samford University

Santa Clara University

Siena College

Syracuse University

Vanderbilt University

Western Kentucky University

Xavier University

Yale University

Full APRs for all teams, including access to postseason play and penalties for low-performing teams, will be released June 11.

The 976 teams publicly recognized for high achievement represent 594 women’s teams and 382 men’s or mixed squads.

Top performing APRs this year ranged from 978 to a perfect 1,000, with the majority of teams earning a perfect APR.

“The NCAA’s quintessential student-athlete exhibits dedication and commitment both on the playing field and in the classroom,” said NCAA President Mark Emmert. “These teams and programs truly embody the overall values of the NCAA, and have exceeded standards to post fantastic academic scores. We are delighted by such a clear example of our membership’s commitment to providing well-rounded experiences to student-athletes.”

Nine NCAA national champions from the 2012-13 season are included in this year’s award list: Indiana University Men’s Soccer; University of Louisville Men’s Basketball; Yale University Men’s Ice Hockey; University of Georgia Women’s Swimming, University of Oregon Women’s Indoor Track, University of Alabama Men’s Golf; Duke University Men’s Lacrosse; University of Texas Women’s Volleyball; and University of Michigan Men’s Gymnastics. BCS National Champions University of Alabama football is recognized this year as well.

A total of 268 schools, out of 346 Division I colleges and universities, placed at least one team on the top APR list.

Dartmouth College had the most teams (25) recognized, followed by Brown University (20) and Bucknell University (19).

In 2012, 954 teams were recognized.

Each year, the NCAA tracks the classroom performance of student-athletes on every Division I team through the annual scorecard of academic achievement, known as APR. The rate measures eligibility, graduation and retention each semester or quarter and provides a clear picture of the academic performance in each sport. The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-2012 academic years.

© 2013 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy